It’s what they’re wearing

My mom’s mother was a very interesting woman. She was a snappy dresser, even when she got quite elderly. I believe she was probably in her 80s the last time I saw her wearing white hot pants (with black nylons). I don’t recall exactly what she was wearing when she explained to me about some fashion item and declared, “it’s what they’re wearing.” It might have been the hot pants.

I probably inherited some things from her, but an interest in fashion is not one of them. If I had to find a phrase that describes the extent to which I pay attention to contemporary fashion, it would probably be “hardly at all.” I don’t take any magazines, I don’t tend to watch TV, I don’t shop much. My personal fashion choices are much more influenced by whatever hand-me-downs come my way than by “what they’re wearing.”

Having said that, I realize that I’m not entirely without assumptions about fashion. It just turns out that my assumptions appear to be quite wrong. I know that designers have fashion shows attended by all manner of fancy and rich people, and that their collections often aim to surprise. But I still assumed that, somewhere buried beneath the shock factor would be a layer of “here’s something people would think it would be cool to wear.” For instance, this:

 

from the Charles Jeffrey Loverboy collection at London Fashion Week Men’s Collections for Spring/Summer 2018

You and I might disagree about whether it would be cool to wear, but it’s recognizable as clothing.

In contrast, there’s this:

from the Craig Greenwood collection at London Fashion Week Men’s Collections for Spring/Summer 2018

El Guapo commented that he looks like he was wearing a chiffon nightie and got stuck climbing over a fence. Here’s someone who’s no doubt a comrade:

from the Craig Greenwood collection, London Fashion Week Men’s Collections for Spring/Summer 2018

I can’t help thinking that this would be quite difficult to wear on a crowded sidewalk, and that you’d need a guide to keep you from getting hit in traffic.

Here’s one that shows the model going beyond the standard catwalk saunter:

from the Vivienne Westwood collection, London Fashion Week Men’s Collections for Spring/Summer 2018

Yes, I think that is a plastic fork stuck to his thigh.

But the photo that brought me to the topic of today’s post, and forever put to rest this quaint idea I had about fashion shows featuring things that someone would aspire to wear is this:

from the MAN collection, London Fashion Week Men’s Collections for Spring/Summer 2018

 

There’s a lot more to look at where these came from, if you are so inclined. Consider these few pictures a taste of what you might find at London Fashion Week Men’s Collections for Spring/Summer 2018.

 

[Images: catwalking.com, theatlantic.com]

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

One thought on “It’s what they’re wearing

  1. Ah Lori, thank you for making me laugh. If that’s fashion well…I guess I will find myself laughing a lot more.

Leave a Reply

