And I quote: Bob Dylan

Bob Dylan with Joan Baez, 1963

It’s Bob Dylan’s birthday today. At our house we tend to do birthdays in an understated way, so I won’t start hanging streamers (Bob and I are not that close), but I will share a quote from him, courtesy of wordsmith.org:

“I think of a hero as someone who understands the degree of responsibility that comes with his freedom.”

“Hero” is a term that gets used widely, in regular and super size, but words like courage and daring and power are usually the terms that accompany it. Dylan’s concept doesn’t feature. It feels to me like a satisfying chunk of thought to contemplate.

 

 

My knowledge of twentieth-century music isn’t what it should be–I actually know very little about Bob Dylan’s music. As he is a recent winner of the Nobel Prize for literature (the first songwriter ever to win), I should probably do something about that.

[Images: Wikipedia, independent.co.uk]

 

 

 

Save

Leave a Reply

