Listen for Easter: Philip Stopford and Gerard Markland

Interior of St. Anne’s Cathedral in Belfast, where Philip Stopford was choirmaster for several years

My last post, on preparations for Easter, concentrated on palm fronds, eggs, and bunnies, as those are things we’ve seen during our travels. But for me, the important thing about Easter can’t be photographed.

Perhaps it can be felt, though, so I’ve taken the liberty of adding an extra post so I could bring you this music. I don’t know if it is strictly an Easter song, lacking specific reference to either death or Christ’s victory over the grave. But at its core, Easter is about rescue, and you can feel that here.

 

Philip Stopford’s music has featured here on a few occasions (here and here). The words are by Gerard Markland, someone new to me.

Do not be afraid, do not be afraid,
For I have redeemed you,
I have called you by your name;
You are mine, you are mine.

When you walk through the waters,
I’ll be with you;
You will never sink beneath the waves.
When the fire is burning all around you;
You will never be consumed by the flames.

Do not be afraid, do not be afraid,
For I have redeemed you,
I have called you by your name;
You are mine, you are mine.

When the fear of loneliness is looming,
Then remember I am at your side.
When you dwell in the exile of a stranger,
Remember you are precious in my eyes.

Do not be afraid, do not be afraid.
For I have redeemed you,
I have called you by your name;
You are mine, you are mine.

You are mine, O my child,
For I am your Father,
And I love you, I love you,
I love you, I love you
with a perfect love, a perfect love.

Do not be afraid, do not be afraid,
For I have redeemed you,
I have called you by your name;
You are mine, you are mine.

You are mine.

 

[Image: geograph.org.uk]

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

