And I quote: Theodore Roosevelt

teddy

 

Decisions aren’t always easy for me–perhaps I spend too much time thinking what might follow a bad decision, or even a less than great decision. I’m tempted to second-guess myself about my choices.

Here’s what Theodore Roosevelt, 26th president of the United States, has to say on the subject:

“The best thing you can do is the right thing; the next best thing you can do is the wrong thing; the worst thing you can do is nothing.”

He seems to be telling me that I’ve got to get over my hesitancy. I don’t think what he says can always be true–sometimes not doing anything has got to be better than doing the wrong thing, but it’s a valuable prod. Inaction is bound to be more costly more often than I take into account.

What do you think?

 

3 thoughts on “And I quote: Theodore Roosevelt

  1. I think I agree with Mr. Roosevelt on this one. Doing nothing doesn’t mean that nothing will be done; rather it means you abrogate your agency to the circumstances or to someone else. I think giving up your choice is worse than giving it your best and making a mistake with it. That being said, there are times when one deliberately chooses not to act so as to let others spread their wings and make a choice. But doing nothing never is a way to free yourself of responsibility.

    • Saralynn, these are great insights, well expressed. I grew up with a song by Rush called “Free Will.” The most memorable line for me is, “If you choose not to decide you still have made a choice.” (Electric guitar riffs in the background)

  2. Pingback: Lori Notes turns 300 | Lori Notes

Leave a Reply

