Art to Share: James C. Christensen

james-christensen-mormon-lds-sud-artista-pintor

I got sad news this week: the artist James C. Christensen died on January 8th. I wish I had known him personally. His pieces often say whimsical with a capital W, and I’ve chosen several examples that represent that strain in his work. They’re small, so you’ll want to go to the artist’s page to get a better look. You can find his work here.

 

fish-in-mask

Fish in a Toucan Mask

 

Jonah

Jonah

 

Six Bird Hunters in Full Camouflage

Six Bird Hunters in Full Camouflage

 

The Burden of the Responsible Man

The Burden of the Responsible Man

 

Resistance Training

Resistance Training

Here are a few thoughts from his website: “My aim,” says Christensen, “always begins with a desire to connect with another imagination.” He adds, “My work is an invitation to let your imagination run wild, explore, and make interpretations spontaneously.”

One of my dad’s nicknames for me is Lorelei, and years ago my sister gave me this Christensen print by that name. It hangs in my bedroom at home.

lorelei

[Images: murilovisck.blogspot.com, Artifacts Gallery, flickr.com]

Leave a Reply

