Listen at Christmas: Gerhardt and Ebeling

This simple hymn* is one I’m hoping my family will learn before the season is over. Words are by Paul Gerhardt (1607-76), translated by Catherine Winkworth. Music is by Johann Georg Ebeling (1637-76).

 

After that nicely polished version, I wanted to include this rehearsal recording by a quartet. Small works, too!

I have seen a lot of verses, but these are the lyrics in my copy:

All my Heart this Night Rejoices

All my heart this night rejoices,
As I hear, far and near, sweetest angel voices;
“Christ is born,” their choirs are singing,
Till the air, everywhere, now their joy is ringing.

Hark! a voice from yonder manger,
Soft and sweet, doth entreat, “Flee from woe and danger;
Brethren, come; from all that grieves you
You are freed; all you need I will surely give you.”

Come, then, let us hasten yonder;
Here let all, great and small, kneel in awe and wonder,
Love Him Who with love is yearning;
Hail the star that from far bright with hope is burning.

Thee, dear Lord, with heed I’ll cherish;
Live to Thee and with Thee, dying, shall not perish;
But shall dwell with Thee for ever,
Far on high, in the joy that can alter never.

*The version I know is found in 100 Carols for Choirs, edited and arranged by David Willcocks and John Rutter.

 

Leave a Reply

