Listen: Before the Throne of God Above

space

Called “The Creator on his throne” in the archive

Most of the mysteries I read about emphasize that the longer it’s been since whatever-the-mystery-is happened, the harder it will be to solve, so if the trail has gone cold, don’t hold your breath.

I had a mystery that I put quite a bit of effort into solving: the info I needed had gone with a friend, and though I tracked down that friend through two moves, I hit a dead end when he couldn’t find it either. I did what I could in terms of online searching and came up empty.

Years went by, dust settled, I started to write an intro to this post explaining why I couldn’t tell you much about this cool song, and then I thought, “I’ll just look one more time,” and about four minutes later I had what I needed. Insert whoop-of-triumph noise here. It’s possible I’m better at searching than I used to be, but it’s also possible that the set of searchable things is just much bigger now, and getting bigger all the time.

Back to the song–it was featured on a borrowed CD of High School A Cappella groups from 2004. My favorite track, Before the Throne of God Above, sung by the Academy Singers of Brentwood Academy in Tennessee, hooked me not only because I’m a huge fan of harmony, and these guys really worked it, but because of lines like “God the just is satisfied/to look on Him and pardon me.”* Lyrics can be found here.

After the difficulty I had tracking this down, I recognize there are still hurdles before you’ll succeed in hearing it. This is a Spotify link that can take some time to load, and then you’ll have to sign up for Spotify to actually hear the track. (It’s free, and they have tons of music, but that’s for you to decide.) There’s a 30-second clip at loudr that you can hear to get a small taste (click track 3).

Here’s a youtube recording done by a different group. It’s nice, but not quite the same–it sounds like they know their notes, but aren’t necessarily feeling the message, somehow. Let me know what you think.

A Dürer woodcut of John before the throne of God

A Dürer woodcut of John before the throne of God

*Background about the author of the lyrics, Charitie Lees Smith, can be found here.

[Images: Publicdomainpictures.net, apocalyptictheories.com]

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

