Even English can confuse me.

In our recent travels, I expected to be surrounded by signs I couldn’t understand while we were in Italy and Germany, but I managed to find some to confuse me when we were in London, as well. What does this mean?*

IMG_20160510_144446

I have heard George Bernard Shaw given credit for the idea that Britain and America are two countries divided by a common language.† As an anglophile, I’m on the lookout for words and phrases that are part of that divide, but here’s a term I was not familiar with:

tea pig

If you can help me out with the meaning of either a dry falling main or a tea pig, by all means–enlighten me!

 

*I recognize that a dry falling main may confuse me not because it’s British but because it’s urban. For all I know, they could have dry falling mains in Boston as well, and I haven’t heard of one because, at least when we’re not in Spain, we’re small-town folks.

†Winston Churchill and Oscar Wilde come up in this context, too, and there are a couple of variations of the quote. For my purposes, I’m content with some imprecision and some uncertainty as to origin.

 

[Images: alas, my cellphone–El Guapo would have gotten better shots, I’m sure]

Save

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Even English can confuse me.

  1. Interesting! Could “pig” be referring to the tea pot? Maybe you get your own little tea pot of that flavour instead of just a cup.

Leave a Reply

