and I quote: Truth

Harvard_Theatre_Collection_-_Josh_Billings_TCS_1.2486_-_cropped
“As scarce as truth is, the supply has always been in excess of the demand.”

This quote* from 19th century humorist Josh Billings (the pen name of Henry Wheeler Shaw) made me want to look him up. Apparently, he was humorist-runner-up to Mark Twain, who gets all the visibility.

As luck would have it, we have a picture of the two of them together, which I decided to include mainly because the third man with them is named Petroleum V. Nasby. How could I  resist?

220px-The_American_Humorists_by_G_M_Baker,_November,_1869,_Boston

 

We may think of ourselves as big fans of truth, but does he have a point? Do we find that demand underwhelms supply?

[Images: Wikipedia]

 *The second in what I hope will become a substantial collection of interesting quotes. The first is here.

2 thoughts on “and I quote: Truth

  1. Love it, Lori! I never heard of him, you’re right, but what an apt statement, especially in this election year. The photo is really neat! Thanks

  2. Thanks, Marian. It is a sad fact that people running for office often succumb to the temptation to look not for what’s true, but for what can be turned to their own advantage or make the other person look bad. I’m not sure how we can communicate that we’re looking for something better from them.
    Both of the photos come from the Harvard Theatre Collection from the Harvard University Libraries, though I found them through Wikipedia. I really like them!

Leave a Reply

