Not your target audience

Mailbox of the Casa de l'Ardiaca, Barcelona

Mailbox of the Casa de l’Ardiaca, Barcelona

Though I’ve done what I could to limit the junk mail* that reaches my mailbox, we do get a few flyers–a couple from nearby grocery stores, and the occasional ad from the fabric store. But one day I got an ad that surprised me. It was like a window into another world.

It was a flyer for a sporting goods store that must have opened a branch nearby, and it was a fascinating read–the form was familiar, but the content entirely foreign. Among the things I did not know existed: a Northern Flight Ultimate Layout Blind, which will keep you dry even if you’re lying in 10 inches of water, all while making sure that nearby waterfowl are entirely oblivious to you and whatever you’re planning to hunt them with.

canvas

But even with great sale prices, the flyer wasn’t able to do its job of getting me down to the store with my credit card ready. I was clearly not its target audience.

What kinds of things do you get offered that are entirely outside the set of things you’d ever possibly want? I’d love to hear about it in the comments.

oktoberfest-glasses~50_97

“Never!” or “yes, please” ?

*If you’re still getting a mailbox full of stuff you’re not interested in, consider opting out. Here’s a link to help you get started.

[images: Pere López on Wikipedia, Cabela’s, Oriental Trading]

Leave a Reply

