Understanding celebrity in Tomorrowland

I’m at a computer in the library at Berklee Valencia, which faces out on the Hemisfèric. About half an hour ago several closed  black Mercedes vans arrived, along with other fancy black Mercedes sedans with very tinted windows. They drove past us, around and down the access to the Hemisfèric, which was then cordoned off and guarded. Nothing much happened for a while, and then there was some screaming, and various people running past my window and over to the clump in front of the cordon. Then there was some more screaming, and a few people walking out from the Hemisfèric to the cordons, and then people all getting back into the cars and driving away. Now we’re seeing people intently texting as they walk by, and I just heard a girl gushing that she’d JUST SEEN GEORGE CLOONEY!

photo by Michael Vlasaty

photo by Michael Vlasaty

There are some screaming aftershocks happening, and a girl who looks near tears. She’s young enough that I assume her heart isn’t going to give out. Ah, now I see–she’s got George Clooney’s signature on her clipboard. And now there are people clustered around her taking pictures of her with her clipboard and the signature.

george-clooney-fan

Now you can see the girl who has George Clooney’s signature, too.

 

I’m reminded that the movie Tomorrowland is coming out this week. When we got to Valencia last winter, sections of the City of Arts and Sciences, the campus where Berklee Valencia is housed, were cordoned off because George Clooney and Hugh Laurie and a bunch of their friends were here making a movie. So I can understand why Mr. Clooney would be here for something festive.

I’m less able to understand celebrity as a phenomenon, and today’s little display has got me interested in finding out more about it. Though I’m not a screamer myself, I’m not entirely immune to the pull toward famous people/things. I think I might tend to get excited about different people. The question about whether there are people I’d stand in a clump outside a cordon for is one I guess I’ll have to ponder. And I’ll have time to, because I didn’t run over to see George Clooney get into his car, so I don’t really have anything that I need to be texting about to all my girlfriends.

In case you’re interested, the movie for which the City of Arts and Sciences was a filming location is here.

tomorrowland-poster-disney

6 thoughts on “Understanding celebrity in Tomorrowland

  1. LOL! Reminds me of the two people I’ve waited for: Mikhail Baryshnikov after having watched him dance with his White Oak Dance Project in 1994, and yes I got his autograph; and 1993 I “stalked” Robert Sean Leonard by going three different times to see him perform the role of Edgar in my favorite Shakespeare play King Lear. I waited outside the backstage door and gave him some flowers and vegetables (a funny tradition my performing arts friends and I had started) and a POEM! LOL! I was too nervous to ask him for an autograph. I’m cracking myself up remembering this.

    • The vegetables option hadn’t occurred to me, but it appeals. Do you happen to know where the Baryshnikov autograph is now, or was the getting of it the really important part?

      • Yes, I see the autograph every time I move and decide it gets to survive a little longer. I love to purge junk, but that signed program will be for my children to toss. As a dancer myself, Baryshnikov was one of my heroes and it was a lifelong fulfillment of a dream to see him dance live. He didn’t disappoint.
        –Kaddiz

  2. I don’t really understand celebrity either. Although I did stand outside to watch the royal family roll by in England one time. And took pictures of them on their balcony. I didn’t feel faint though.

    • I wonder how long after a person has become famous enough that other people want to take his/her picture all the time does that person wish that others didn’t want to take such pictures all the time. I’m guessing it’s not very long. If you’re part of the royal family it just has to come with the territory, though, and they’ve never known any different. With the exception of people who marry in, they’ve been famous for as long as they’ve been breathing, plus about 9 months.

  3. I don’t get it either .Its not like you could converse with them or even admire them as a person outside of the silver screen if you did

Leave a Reply

